Search Website:
Live Contact - Click here


About Secc

The South East Chicago Commission (SECC) works to enhance the quality of life in five South Side communities: Hyde Park, Kenwood, Oakland, Washington Park, and Woodlawn. Located just a few miles from downtown Chicago with easy access to the magnificent Lake Michigan shoreline, our communities offer a wealth of opportunities to businesses and residents alike.

Each of the areas we serve is unique, with its own distinct personality, history, challenges, and vision for the future. But our neighborhoods also share some important characteristics, including a deep commitment to community engagement and responsible development.

In recent years, the SECC's entire service area has experienced significant growth and re-investment. In Oakland, a new mixed-income apartment complex stands on the former site of some of the Chicago Housing Authority's most notorious facilities. In Woodlawn, dozens of condo conversions and new-construction projects have begun to attract buyers from across the Chicago area. And in Washington Park, hundreds of units of affordable housing have been built in the past few years.

Together, the communities of the South East Chicago Commission represent a vital force for responsible economic development and a strong spirit of community.

Select a Neighborhood For More Info

  • 1stfixtures_widget