Search Website:
Live Contact - Click here




Special Service Areas, known as Business Improvement Districts or BIDs in other cities, are local tax districts that fund expanded services and programs through a localized property tax levy within contiguous areas. The enhanced services and programs are in addition to those currently provided through the City.

SSA-funded projects typically include but are not limited to: public way maintenance and beautification; district marketing and advertising; business retention/attraction, special events and promotional activities; auto and bike transit; security; facade improvements; and other commercial and economic development initiatives.

The City contracts with local non-profits, called Service Providers, to manage SSAs. Mayorally-appointed SSA Commissioners for each SSA district oversee and recommend the annual services, budget and Service Provider Agency to the City. For additional information, visit the City of Chicago's SSA Program online or download this presentation.

SSA Commissioners Meetings

Public Notice for the Commissioners meetings of the Special Service Area Hyde Park #61 Chicago IL. The meetings will be held at the Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center and the Chicago Innovation Exchange. *Meetings times are date and location dependent.

2017 Meeting Schedule
Polsky Innovation Exchange 1452 E 53rd St Chicago, IL 60615
Hyatt Place 5225 S. Harper Ave. Chicago, IL 60615

  • January 18, 2017 - 11:00 am
  • February 15, 2017 - 7:00 pm
  • March 2017 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • April 19, 2017 - 11:00 am
  • May 2017 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • June 21, 2017 - 11:00 am - Special Budget Meeting
  • July 19, 2017 - 11:00 am
  • August 2017 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • September 20, 2017 - 7:00 pm
  • October 18, 2017 - 11:00 am
  • November 2017 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • December 6, 2017 - 11:00 am

SSA Meeting Minutes

Minutes are published online at Downtown Hyde Park Chicago | About


Please contact the Eric E Reaves, SSA Director, or any member of the Board of Commissioners for additional details about SSA Hyde Park.  Conference call meeting information is available upon request.   Click Here for the list of current Commissioners.

  • 1stfixtures_widget