About Us - Team

who we are

Our Team

Diane Burnham

Diane Burnham

Executive Director
Burnham holds a Master of Management in Nonprofit Administration from North Park University in Chicago and a Master of Science in Urban Studies from the University of Wisconsin. She has…
learn more
Rod Sawyer

Rod Sawyer

SSA #61 Program Manager
Rod Sawyer has more than 30 years of experience as a business and technology professional with strong connectivity to the Hyde Park Chicago community. He joined the Hyde Park Chamber…
learn more
Raymonde Vance

Raymonde Vance

Office Administrator
Since 1995, Raymonde Vance has been the essential glue that keeps the South East Chicago Commission operating efficiently at all times.
learn more
Kiara Hardin

Kiara Hardin

Program Coordinator
With a Master of Science in Public Service Management from DePaul University, Kiara focuses on the social determinants of health by closing gaps in community infrastructure. She has experience supporting…
learn more

Board of Directors

Executive Board

  • Jourdan Sorrell (Chair)
  • James R. Poueymirou (1st Vice President)
  • JoAnn Newsome (2nd Vice President)
  • Danita Childers (Treasurer)
  • Elizabeth Gardner (Assistant Treasurer)
  • Phaedra Leslie (Secretary)
  • Ben Anderson (Assistant Secretary)

Board Members

  • Sandra Bivens
  • Andre Brumfield
  • Elvin Charity
  • Susan S. Freehling
  • Bernita Johnson-Gabriel
  • Monica Haslip
  • Michael McGarry
  • Brian R. Porter

Board of Directors updated as of January 1, 2023.